This article contains information on the following topics:
Overview
For information such as:
- Logging into GoogleApps with your MSU email
- Support for GoogleApps
- Other general information about MSU GoogleApps
Shared Drives
Google Shared Drives are shared spaces where teams can easily store, search, and access their files anywhere, from any device.
Unlike files in My Drive, files in Shared Drive belong to the team instead of an individual. Even if members leave, the files stay exactly where they are so your team can continue to share information and get work done.
How does it work?
With Shared Drives, you can:
- Store, search, share, and access any files anywhere, from any device
- Control individual member permissions to the shared drive (Manager, Content manager, Contributor, Commenter, or Viewer)
- Edit shared files in real time with other members of the shared drive
- Star, move, and categorize important files
Creating a Shared Drive
- New Google Shared Drives can be created for MSU faculty and staff. Students must have a faculty or staff member serve as their sponsor by submitting the request on their behalf.
- These must now be requested using this form. Fill out the required information and the support team will assist getting it set up for you.
- The cap on shared drive size is 25 GB (as of November 1, 2024).
Adding Members and Setting Permissions
- In the left navigation bar, click a Shared Drive.
- At the top-right, click Manage members. You can add names, email addresses, or Google Groups.
- To change permissions from Manager access, click the down arrow and choose a new permission.
Adding Files and Folders
- For folders, while in your Shared Drive, right-click and then select New folder. You can also upload folders from your computer by clicking Upload folder instead of New folder.
- There are several methods for adding files to a shared drive:
- Drag an existing file to upload it from your computer.
- To create a file, click the + New button in the top-left corner and select the type of file you want to create.
Managing Shared Drives
In Google Shared Drives, there are five different levels of access for members:
- Manager - Manage content, people, and settings
- Content manager - Add, edit, move, delete, and share content
- Contributor - Add, edit, and share files
- Commenter - View files and add comments
- Viewer - View-only access
Changing Member Permissions
- In your Shared Drive, next to your Shared Drive name at the top of the page, click the down arrow and select Manage members.
- Next to a member’s name, click the down arrow and select a new permission for that member.
Removing Members
- In your Shared Drive, next to your Shared Drive name at the top of the page, click the down arrow and select Manage members.
- Next to a member’s name, click the down arrow and select Remove access.
For more information on managing a Shared Drive, see Share and manage access to files and folders in Google Drive.
Return to Top
Google Drive for desktop
You can easily work with your files with Google Drive for desktop. Any edits you make to files sync automatically to your computer and drives.
How does it work?
With Google Drive for desktop, you can:
- Access Google Drive files from Finder or File Explorer, including Shared Drives
- Browse and organize files without downloading everything to your computer
- Make selected files and folders available offline
- Open and edit files in desktop apps like Microsoft Office and Adobe Photoshop
How do I get started?
Visit the Use Google Drive for desktop to install and get started.
Return to Top