Shared Drives
Google Shared Drives are shared spaces where teams can easily store, search, and access their files anywhere, from any device.
Unlike files in My Drive, files in Shared Drive belong to the team instead of an individual. Even if members leave, the files stay exactly where they are so your team can continue to share information and get work done.
How does it work?
With Shared Drives, you can:
- Store, search, share, and access any files anywhere, from any device
- Control individual member permissions to the shared drive (Manager, Content manager, Contributor, Commenter, or Viewer)
- Edit shared files in real time with other members of the shared drive
- Star, move, and categorize important files
Access to files and folders in shared drives is granted in two ways:
- Adding a user or group as a member of the shared drive
- Members sharing files and folders with non-members
Shared With Me
When Drive files and folders owned by other entities are shared with you specifically, they appear under the Shared with me tab.
The owner of a specific Google Drive does not own the files located in their Shared with me tab.
In order to gain ownership of files in one’s Shared with me tab, the files need to be downloaded.